“If you don’t know what you bring to the table, you won’t get a seat there.”

“Tell me a little bit about yourself”

“Umm, I’m a communications major. I uh like to hang out with my friends.  I work at the Natick Mall. I’m outgoing.”

How many times have you been faced with the “Tell me a little bit about yourself” question when speaking with professionals, and have no idea how to properly respond?

Today we are going to address how to properly answer this question by developing your Elevator Pitch.

An Elevator Pitch is a 30-second introduction to who you are.  

Your Elevator Pitch can be used in a variety of situations.

  • When speaking to a professor for career advice
  • While networking at social events
  • When speaking to employers on campus at our Employer Showcases

It is a brief introduction where you state:

  • Your Degree:  What is your major?  What type of degree will you graduate with?  When are you anticipated to graduate?
  • Your Experience:  This includes any relevant jobs, volunteer work, or projects.
  • Your Goals:  What type of position are you seeking and why?

While the information you include in your Elevator pitch is standard, your elevator pitch should be anything but ordinary.  Make it your own.

Example Elevator Pitch:

Hello, my name is Arianna Miller, and I am a senior at Framingham State University majoring in English with an anticipated graduation date of December 2015.  My ability to write effectively makes me a good candidate to assist in marketing projects.  I have gained useful knowledge of writing for the web, social media, and news-related articles while learning how to meet deadlines.  Recently, I interned at Framingham State’s Career Services and Employer Relations Office where I increased our marketing efforts by creating a blog and a bi-weekly newsletter.  I am currently seeking a position in the marketing field.

Once you have developed your elevator pitch, practice it.  Introduce yourself to your friends with your elevator pitch.  The more comfortable you are with it the smoother it will come across.  You will impress employers with your unique elevator pitch and your confidence in your abilities.

Written by Arianna Miller

Leave a Reply

